Skip to content

Containers - ECS, Fargate, ECR & EKS

ECS - Elastic Container Service

Launch Types

EC2 Launch Type

  • You must provision & maintain the infrastructure
  • Each EC2 instance must run the ECS agent in the ECS cluster
  • AWS takes care of starting/stopping containers

Fargate Launch Type

  • AWS manages the infrastructure (No EC2 instances to manage)
  • Serverless
  • AWS runs ECS tasks based on the CPU & Memory requirements
  • To scale up/down, increase the number of tasks

IAM Roles for ECS

EC2 Instance Profile - EC2 launch type

Used by ECS agent to:

  • Make API calls to ECS service
  • Send container logs to CloudWatch Logs
  • Pull docker image from ECR
  • Reference sensitive data in Secrets Manager or SSM Parameter Store

EC2 tasks Role - EC2 launch type & Fargate launch type

  • Allows each task to have a specific role
  • Use different roles for different ECS services
  • Task role is defined in task definition

Load Balancer Integration

Application Load Balancer - Supported for most use cases

Network Load Balancer - Recommended for high throughput & high performance or to pair with AWS Private Link

Data Volumes - EFS

  • Mount EFS file system to ECS tasks
  • Works for both EC2 & Fargate launch types
  • EFS is a shared file system, so multiple tasks can access the same file
  • Tasks running in any availability zone can access the same file

Use cases: Persistent multi AZ storage for containers


Fargate + EFS = Serverless


S3 cannot be mounted as a file system to ECS tasks

ECS Autoscaling

  • Automatically increase/decrease the number of tasks based on
    • CPU Utilization
    • Memory utilization
    • ALB Request Count Per Target - Metric coming from the ALB
  • ECS Auto Scaling uses AWS Application Auto Scaling

Target Tracking - Scale based on a target value for a specific CloudWatch metric

Step Scaling - Scale based on a specified CloudWatch Alarm

Scheduled Scaling - Scale based on a specified date/time


ECS Service Auto Scaling (task level) != EC2 Auto Scaling (instance level). Fargate Auto Scaling is much easier to setup than EC2 Auto Scaling